Kristi Speaks

Like it or not………..

Resolutions

So I have a few resolutions. 

I need to lose some weight.  Damn babies like to leave me with a few extra pounds and I think I must be getting to the end of the time frame where I can say that “I just had a baby”.  Not only that, everyone here needs to start eating better (sorry Darren & Mackenzie, that means you too).  Starting the 1st I’ve eliminated all sweets in the house.  Kenzie and I are still detoxing.

I’m going to make my business successful.  I’d say I was going to try, but that’s not good enough.  I will make it work.  Period.

I also need to find me again.  Since having Mackenzie I’ve kind of lost sight of Kristi, and damn she was fun, so this year I’m going to find her again.  A friend said something that made me realize what I had already suspected.  “As long as you can still call yourself Kristi, and not just Mackenzie’s or Oliver’s Mom, you’re doing ok”.   Well guess what, I haven’t been much besided Mackenzie’s Mom, and I’m kind of bored with myself.  I started off the New Year by reading my first book.  Haha, not my first book, but the first book in three years that had more than 10 words to a page.  The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Dias.  (Thanks Ray for the suggestion)  I finished it in 2 and 1/2 days and damn it felt good!

January 6, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Awesome resolutions. I’ll see what I can do to not, uh….um. JELLY BELLY! There I said it and I’ll keep’em all to myself.

    Comment by shaggybob | January 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. Yep, it’s that old, “You’re no longer somebody, you’re somebody’s mother” problem. I feel like I have an identity outside my kids, but they’re both older than yours. Wait till I have another – and I refuse to include the word “if” there – and then we’ll see how well I hang onto my own self for a while.

    Comment by Kate | January 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

